"Katalin Varga," "Last Train Home" Take Top Honors at RiverRun

The 2010 RiverRun International Film Festival has officially come to a close, and the winners have been announced. They went pretty much how I thought they would go, but there were a few surprises. Here is the complete list of winners:


Narrative Feature Jury

Best Performance – Hilda Péter – Katalin Varga

Best Cinematography – Martin Gschlacht – Lourdes & Women Without Men

Best Director – Giorgos Lanthimos – Dogtooth

Best Screenplay – Edgar San Juan & Rigoberto Pérezcano – Northless

Best Feature – Katalin Varga


Documentary Feature Jury

Special Jury Prize for Nonfiction Storytelling – His & Hers – Director: Ken


Special Jury Prize for Editing – Marek Sulík – Cooking History

Best Cinematography – Robert Persons – General Orders No. 9

Best Director – Susan Gluth – Soap & Water

Best Documentary – Last Train Home

Narrative Shorts Jury

Best Narrative Short – Ivadelle – Director: Nicole Dorsey

Documentary Shorts Jury

Best Documentary Short – A Song for Ourselves – Director: Tadashi


Honorable Mention – Wagah – Directors: Supriyo Sen & Najaf Bilgrami

Animated Shorts Jury

Best Animated Short – Please Say Something – Director: David O’Reilly

Student Shorts Jury

Best Student Narrative Short – Almost Normal (Kimat Normali) – Director:

Keren Ben Rafael – School: La Femis

Best Student Documentary Short – A Song For Ourselves – Director:

Tadashi Nakamura – School: University of California – Santa Cruz

Best Student Animated Short – Touchdawn of the Dead – Directors: Pierre

Mousquet, Hubert Seynave & Marc Deleplanque – School: ENSAV –

La Cambre

Audience Awards

Best Narrative Feature – Letters to Father Jacob – Director: Klaus Härö

Best Documentary Feature – The Topp Twins: Untouchable Girls – Director: Leanne Pooley


Daniel said…
Well I'm seeing Northless at MSPIFF tonight, but dang it if Last Train Home wasn't sold out opening weekend. I must track it down.

How it pains me that our 150+ film, 16 day festival has nothing resembling an official jury or even audience awards.

Popular Posts